Rashtriya Kisan Samanvay Samiti (National Farmers Coordination Committee) Meet on Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement Act 2013 and (Amendment 2014)

Rashtriya Kisan Samanvay Samiti (National Farmers Coordination Committee) Meet on Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement Act 2013 and (Amendment 2014)

Feb, 2015. New Delhi

Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement Act 2013, passed during the UPA regime and “The Right for Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement (Amendment) Ordinance, 2014, brought in by the current Government, is not acceptable, was the opinion expressed unanimously by over 30 farmers organisations, which participated today in the meeting convened on the above issue. The same views are also held by various other farmers organisations all over the country, was conveyed by the other farmers. BKU has given a call to organise an all India protest rally in Delhi with one lac farmers on 18 March, if the Government decides to go ahead with the current form of the Ordinance said BKU Spokesman, Sh. Rakesh Tikait. However the party General Secretary, Sh. Yudhvir Singh said that he is hopeful from the Government that they will reconsider the stand on the amendments, as was given the impression by Sh. Rajnath Singh and Smt. Sushma Swaraj in meeting with us day before.   Bhartiya Kisan Union was represented by all its State presidents.


Dr. MJ Khan, National Convener of the Federation of Indian Farmers organisations (FIFO) said that some of the clauses in the Amendment Ordinance are progressive in nature, which will address the emerging challenges of the farmers and the rural society, create more economic opportunities. He said that the problems that farmers are facing cannot be addressed by more money being handed out or doles given through one time compensation, but by more facilities and more opportunities. Development of infrastructure, Industrial projects and economic activities in rural areas will mean more jobs, more incomes, better facilities and social and economic empowerment.

Sh. Krishan Bir Chowdhary, president, Bhartiya Krishak Samaj said that we are opposed to the Ordinance in its current form, but we are ready to discuss the concerns with the Government and if the recommendations of the Coordination Committee based on the today’s deliberations are accepted, then we will support the Government on this issue. He also said that Anna Movement is politically driven and captured by certain NGOs with political intents. It will meet the same fate, as the previous Dharna. Some NGOs will make a similar political flesh out of this agitation, leaving Anna ji high and dry. Following organisations participated in the meeting:

1.       Sh. Rakesh Tikait, National Spokesman, Bhartiya Kisan Union
2.       Sh. Yudhveer Singh, South Asia Convenor, International Farmers Alliance and Gen Secy, BKU
3.       Sh. KB Chowdhary, President, Bhartiya Krishak Samaj
4.       Sh. Puneet Singh Thind, General Secretary, Rashtriya Kisan Sangh
5.       Sh. Kesari Singh Gujjar, President, Dehat Morcha
6.       Sh. Ram Karan Solanki, President, Delhi Unit, BKS
7.       Sh. Arun Bhaku, Gen. Secy, Kisan Manch, Uttarakhand
8.       Sh. MI Sayyed, President, Vegetable Growers Association of India, Kolhapur
9.       Sh. Shriram Gadhve, President, Federation of Farmers Organisations, Maharashtra
10.   Sh. Dashrath Ram Reddy, Andhra Pradesh Rythu Association, Warrangal
11.   Sh. Raja Ram Tripathi, President, MAHACHAMP, Chhatisgarh
12.   Sh. GN Sharma, President, Bihar M&A Farmers Association
13.   Sh. Sudhir Aggarwal, President, Uttar Pradesh Beej Utpadak Sangh
14.   Sh. KT Gangadhar, President, Karnataka Rajya Rayyat Sangh
15.   Sh. Kannain Subramania, Convenor, South India Farmers Coordination Committee
16.   Sh. Banwari Beniwal, State President Haryana, Bhartiya Kisan Union
17.   Sh. Mahavir Gulia, Haryana State President, Bhartiya Kisan Sangh
18.   Sh. Rajesh Sharma, General Secretary, Bhartiya Praja Party (Manvir Teotia)
19.   Sh. Ravinder Chauhan, President, Himachal Pradesh Apple Growers Associaiton
20.   Sh. Pramod Tyagi, President, Progressive Farmers Organisation, Uttar Pradesh
21.   Sh. Bijendra S Dalal, Convenor, Haryana Progressive Farmers Club, Palwal
22.   Sh. Rajesh Sharma, President, J&K Cooperative Association and J&K Farmers Council
23.   Sh. Prabhakar Kelkar, Gen. Secy, Bhartiya Kisan Sangh
24.   Sh. Kamal Chauhan, President, Haryana Mashroom Farmers Association
25.   Sh. Mahavir Gulia, Haryana State President, BKS
26.   Sh. Vidyadhar Singh Olkha, Rajasthan Farmers Association, Ganganagar 
27.   Dr. MJ Khan, Convenor, Federation of Indian Farmers Organisations

Demands of the Farmers

  1. Consent of 70% land holders in a project of the Government and 80% in PPP projects,  consent is must for acquiring the land for developmental projects. Government must not acquire land for private parties, accept in PPP projects for public purpose.
  2. The word “Appropriate Government” has to be clearly defined. We demand that in Districts the right to acquire land should be given to District Boards, which have farmers representation. In other authorities, farmers nominees must be included.
  3. The Social Impact must be ascertained by a committee, which should have 50% farmers and non-governmental representatives. Effective measures should be taken to address the farmers issues.
  4. The Amendment under section 24 (2) should be withdrawn, which gives the validity of projects beyond five years, pending arbitration
  5. Lands acquired for industrial purpose and such other projects, where employment is generated, 50% of the class 3 and class 4 level jobs are reserved for those farmers, whose land is acquired.


Popular posts from this blog

TDSAT tells Reliance Big TV to clear dues or face disconnection of service from Antrix- Television Post

#ErosInternational signs four film co-production deal with #DrishyamFilms

Film ‘#MumbaiDreams’ Poster Unveiled by #FaaizAnwar, #RitikaGulati, #ShivomYadav, #HoneyLamba, #RajanBhan