61st National Film Awards : Ship of Theseus is the best feature film and ‘Gulabi Gang’  the best non-feature film; 
Awards for Shahid, Bhag Milkha Bhag and Jolly LLB too
Mumbai | April 16, 2014
61st National Film Awards were announced at a Press Conference held at the National Media Centre in New Delhi today.
Anand Gandhi directed ‘Ship of Theseus’ was named Best Feature Film while Nishtha Jain’s ‘Gulaabi Gang’ won the award for Best Movie on Social Issues in the non-feature film category.  ‘Ship of Theseus’  is a powerful film about a photographer, a Jain monk and a young stock broker told through different segments, which finally unites them through a strange circumstance. 
Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra's film 'Bhaag Milkha Bhaag' won the award for Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment. The film  starring Farhan Akhtar, is a biopic of one of India's greatest sportsmen - Milkha Singh.
Hansal Mehta won the Best Director award for his remarkable film 'Shahid' that traces the true story of a slain human rights activist and a lawyer Shahid Azmi in the backdrop of communal violence unleashed in Mumbai. Rajkummar Rao also won Best Actor for 'Shahid' which he shared with Suraj Venjaramoodu for Malayalam movie ‘Perariyathavar.
The Best Actress award went to 'Liar's Dice' actress Geetanjali Thapa. Arshad Warsi’s Jolly LLB won the Best Hindi film award and  Saurabh Shukla, who played a no-nonsense judge in the movie, bagged the Best Supporting Actor (Male). Best supporting actor (female) award was shared by Amruta Subhash for Marathi film ‘Astu’ and Aida El-Kashef for ‘Ship of Theseus’.
The Indira Gandhi award for best debut film of a director went to the Marathi film ' Fandry' directed by Nagraj Manjule, which provides a stark and realistic portrayal of Dalits in India seen through the eyes of a young boy.
‘Aajcha Diwas Majha’ directed by Chandrakant Kulkarni was adjudged the Best Marathi Film, while Laxmikant Shetgaonkar’s ‘Baga Beach’ won the award for Best Konkani Film.
Bela Shende won Best Female Playback for the song 'Khura Khura' in the Marathi film 'Tuhya Dharma Koncha'. 
Alaka Shahani of Indian Express, Mumbai won the award for Best Film Critic, while Nandgopal’s book on film making in Telugu ‘Cinema ga cinema’ was adjudged the Best Book on Cinema.
The National Film Awards will be presented by the President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee in New Delhi on May 3.
Complete list of awards along with citation enclosed. Also at www.pibmumbai.gov.in and www.pib.nic.in


Popular posts from this blog

TDSAT tells Reliance Big TV to clear dues or face disconnection of service from Antrix- Television Post

#ErosInternational signs four film co-production deal with #DrishyamFilms

Film ‘#MumbaiDreams’ Poster Unveiled by #FaaizAnwar, #RitikaGulati, #ShivomYadav, #HoneyLamba, #RajanBhan